Export Impact For Good

Countries / Territories

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who can enter?

    The WTPO Awards are open to all trade support institutions officially recognized as the national organizations for trade promotion. Some of these organizations also engage in investment and/or tourism activities.


    What are the benefits of entering the Awards?

    While winning an award is an important benefit, many former winners state that the process of entering is where the real value lies in deeply analysing their processes and objectively evaluating outcomes against strategic goals.


    Tangible benefits of participating in the TPO Network Awards include

    Demonstrate impact: News of your participation can be used for national public relations purposes, to demonstrate your effectiveness to policymakers and increase your influence with stakeholders;

    Recognition: The peer-reviewed process promotes recognition of your success among the TPO Network community and beyond;

    Visibility: ITC promote winners through various channels; As a winner, you will be entitled to use the TPO Network Award winner logo on your corporate communications; Your achievements will feature prominently in ITC's online and offline promotional activities. Please refer to the WTPO Awards Entry Guide for further information on the benefits of participation.


    How is this year’s process different from previous years?

    The format of the Awards has changed and now consists of two stages. Stage 1 requires completion of a short entry form to collect:

    • Entrant information
    • Designated authorisation to enter
    • The entry: a short description of an initiative that advances export development, covering:
    • the problem addressed by the initiative
    • the specific objectives (what is measured to determine success)
    • the target audience (key characteristics of clientele)
    • the processes used to design and deliver the service


    Entrants may submit multiple entries at this stage. If more than one entry from a TPO qualifies for Stage 2, the TPO will need to decide which entry will go forward.


    At Stage 2, qualifying entrants will submit a more comprehensive entry form for evaluation by the jury.


    What constitutes export development initiative?

    When selecting your export development initiative, consider the following:

    • Does the initiative  aim to build the effective export competitiveness of SMEs; and/or
    • Does the initiative contribute to broader changes that lead or contribute to sustained export competitiveness such as raised awareness, attitude change and/or changes in SME managerial practices.


    Why are the award categories different from previous years?

    Previous award categories were Best TPO from a Least Developed Country, Best TPO from a Developing Country and Best TPO from a Developed country.

    The 2018 award categories were changed to better reflect the types of initiatives and programmes being run by trade and investment promotion organizations


    Which category should I enter?

    Consider what is most salient about your initiative. Is there a practice or process related to the awards criteria for Stage 2 for which you feel your TPO has excelled at when offering export development initiatives? Have you developed innovative partnerships to deliver an export development initiative? Was using information technology a key innovation that improved efficiency? Does your initiative align with one of the SDGs listed for an award in this category?


    Can a TPO enter more than one category for each entry?

    An entry may fit in more than one category. It is up to the entrant to select the category that best aligns with the purpose of the initiative, practices and tools used to design, produce and deliver the initiative.


    Can a TPO submit more than one entry?

    A TPO may submit up to five different entries


    When is the entry deadline?

    The entry deadline for Stage 1 is 10 May 2018.


    When will I know if I can submit a Stage 2 entry

    The ITC Awards team will notify all entrants of their qualifying status on 24 May 2018.


    Can a TPO re-submit an entry from previous awards if it matches one of the new categories?

    A TPO may re-submit a previous entry if the initiative is still current. For consideration by the jury, the entry must comply with the instructions in the Entry Guide.


    Do entries need to be in English?

    We encourage all national TPOs to participate. The WTPO Award process accepts Stage 1 entries in English, French or Spanish. ITC will translate these entries for the jury. Note: ITC cannot be held accountable for the accuracy of the translation. Entries for Stage 2 are required to be in English.

    If you would like to receive the Entry Guide in French or Spanish, please contact the WTPO Awards team at wtpo-awards@intracen.org.


    What is the entry process?

    The WTPO Awards 2018 follow a two-stage process. The initial entry process, Stage 1, requires entrants to complete a short entry form providing a brief description of the export development initiative submitted for an award.

    At Stage 2, qualifying entrants will submit a more comprehensive entry elaborating the processes and tools used to manage and offer the service and provide evidence of its impact.


    When and where is the Awards ceremony?

    The awards ceremony will take place during the gala dinner at the 12th TPO Network World Conference, in Paris on 25 October 2018.


    Whom can I ask for help?

    We are here to answer your questions and provide assistance in completing your entries for both Stage 1 and Stage 2 of the Awards process. Please contact the team at wtpo-awards@intracen.org.

  • hosted by



    For more information, please email us at: tponetwork[at]intracen.org

  • WTPO AWARDS 2018

    Call for entries

    Download Entry guide: EN / FR

    Download Stage 1 Entry Form: EN / FR

  • Shortlisted Candidates